Mark Simms Photography

To blow away the cobwebs from the over-indulgence of the festive period, the wife and I decided to go for a walk around Delamere Forest in Cheshire on New Years Day. I took the opportunity to try out my new lens, the Canon 50mm F1.4 USM…..Santa was very generous this year…..:0)!

I also took the opportunity to try something a little different…..

I first saw this technique in an edition of Practical Photography magazine a number of months ago and I’ve just been waiting for the right opportunity to give it a go. It’s really very simple – whilst the shutter is open you slowly move the camera up or down in a steady vertical motion. Because the movement of the camera is vertical I think this works best with tall vertical subjects – hence the reason for choosing a forest.

For these four shots I was working with a…

View original post 167 more words

