a sense of place

I’ve spent a lot of time around the docks and the river here in Liverpool lately. Separately walking the North and the South Docks and a fair bit of time at the Pier Head.

And I was sat at the Pier Head on Christmas Day when I sent Sarah this picture from my phone.

With hardly any people around the bleak expanse of the hard landscaping here looks particularly brutal.

Then in my New Year’s Day post I cited this landscaping as one of Liverpool’s worst bits of architecture.

Then yesterday the high tides and storms that have been happening with increasing frequency hit the whole of west coast Britain.

And changing my mind about the landscaping of the Pier Head. Sure, it’s harsh and ugly if you view it as an extension of the Leeds and Liverpool Canal.

View original post 348 more words

