My 3 words for 2014

For the past 2 years i have been taking photographs, experimenting with techniques, learning to edit, plopping them on social networking sites for all to see (very technical term ‘plopping’) upgrading my equipment, entering competitions (i have won one!) and finally getting around to selling them. My success rate isn’t good (truth be told its abysmal) BUT I have looked at other peoples work and think in some cases mine is better, i have read lots of books, articles, blog posts, emails, well anything that’s been thrown my way and i think i have improved 100% to those first DSLR photographs back in 2012.

I have a terrible memory, i’m not ashamed to say, and i can read an article think ‘i’ll go and do that this afternoon’ and get there and realise i cant remember what i’m supposed to do. Point in fact i totally forgot about the +/- bar at the bottom of the screen even though i look through it to frame a shot! And was getting my panties in a bunch because i couldn’t get the exposure right, sigh. (shake of her head, I want to do this for a living?)
I don’t know about you but i sometimes find that i take the shot, load it onto my computer, back it up onto my hard drive, open up in PS Bridge CC, read the photos, (you don’t look at a picture, you read it) choose which i think are the best and ‘tweek’ if it needs it and find that i have looked at those images so many times i am sick of the sight of them. Then i get bored and don’t look at them for a while then look at them and think they are rubbish. I then feel bad and that i’m not going anywhere with my photography. SO, this year i have decided is going to be ‘THE YEAR I GET MY ACT TOGETHER AND FORGE AHEAD WITH MY PHOTOGRAPHY’

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I read an article called ‘3 words for 2014’ and decided to do this for myself. The words i have chosen are; give up, run away, defeat, NO, actually they are; PERSEVERE, do not give up on anything, keep trying to be my best even when the going is tough, i know i have limits and i will try to work right up to them and a little beyond to do what i love. MARKET, i will work harder at marketing my work, using social media, local fairs, competitions, you name it i’m going to have a go at it. Last week using twitter and google+ i shared half a dozen photos and found that on one site alone i got over 25 hits, on each one! So it does work. And most of all BELIEVE in myself, my work, my talent and what i want from it. I will make this work no buts or maybe’s. I have an idea for a coffee table book and have started to work on it, i intend to get myself in magazines online and in print, have an exhibition and hopefully sell something! Going to be busy aren’t i! I just hope that my children and husband are self sufficient enough for me to do it all. Here’s looking forward to the rest of 2014, Happy New Year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 thoughts on “My 3 words for 2014

  1. wonderful post… glad to have come across your blog… 🙂 Have a positive, optimistic and serene year! my very best and good luck in all your endeavours! Cheers, Mélanie – Toulouse, France

  2. The key to anything is to be persistent and consistent. If you’re going to sell your work, pick some places and be persistent and consistent in adding new stuff.

    I tried SmugMug, Zazzle, and Fine Art America several years ago, but I was not persistent and consistent in using those three places to their fullest. If you’re serious about selling your work, you have to be serious in putting it out there for sale in places where the likelihood of people seeing it is greatest.

    1. Yes, in a nutshell! I have limited time and have to find time at different parts of the day, when im not looking after someone, and try to make sure i am seen on FAA, flickr, 500px i just dont have the cash to pay for all of the memberships though so have to make do with half the things on offer. I can have a good hit on the internet and get lots of exposure then go days not being able to do anything because of hospital visits etc. I will get there eventually!
      One thing i find hard is monetizing my work, how much is it worth to someone as it is worth very much to me. I dont think i sell myself short but have had ‘too expensive’ back several times. I have looked at sites and other artists, maybe i just havent had the ‘right kind of person’ wanting to buy my work yet! I WILL stay positive, thanks for your comment, x

      1. Remember that you have a potential market of about six billion people. However, I think the 80/20 rule comes into play here: 80% won’t buy from you because they think they can create a picture just as good with their smart phone cameras. The other 20% will buy from you IF the price is right, the timing is right, the delivery time is right, the Internet access is fast, etc., etc., etc. You have to reach that 20%. Where do they hang out? Probably Instagram, Flickr, Twitter, SmugMug, Fine Art America, Zazzle…. maybe some that I’m forgetting. Pick one or two and be the best there. As time and money permits, you can pick up the others.

      2. Yes, it is. However, when trying to do that, I would suggest not looking at the prices that everyone else charges. Instead, look at what you NEED to charge in order to live, save, and retire. If you need to charge $5,000 for a 4×6 photograph, you probably have other problems somewhere.

        I always total my monthly bills, set a price that, with projected sales, would pay those monthly bills. Then add to that set price, 10% for a rainy day and 25% for retirement. It’s a system that my wise old grandmother taught me, and so far (48 years), it’s worked extremely well, having gotten me very easily through the late 1970s recession, the Texas oil bust of the early 1980s, real estate bust here in San Diego in the early 1990s, and the recent Great Recession.

  3. Karen – your photos are stunning and your honesty is refreshing. I wish you all of life’s good things for 2014, and I look forward to saying “I knew her when”………
    Good Luck
    Karl
    x

Leave a Reply

