Wanderings with Chris …………. Nant Mill Woods

Nant Mill Woods is a small part of the Clywedog Valley trail in Wrexham and I had heard that it is a great place to photograph Wild Garlic in the spring and as I wasn’t very happy with the quality of my Bluebell photos I decided to try again with the Garlic. We had a nice run down to Wrexham and found the carpark easily and as it was a really lovely day we had a picnic lunch on one of the benches by the river. After a quick look at the river and nearly slipping on my bum in the ford we decided to head off up the trail and find the garlic and it was everywhere. The smell was wonderful, I just wish we had smelly vision so I could record the smell for you, it looked like we had visited at peak time as all of the flowers were blooming.

No matter where it is we go to photograph I always find it difficult getting that first shot in, don’t you? Its as if my eye has been unused for too long and it needs awakening again so one of the things I find that helps is to just point and shoot, its not as if we have to save film or anything is it! Having arrived at the trail in the afternoon the light slowly became better and better and more compositions started to appear, I actually found it difficult to choose what I would photograph, this is where Chris comes in handy as he has a good eye for an image and he is great at pointing out compositions I may have missed. I found some lovely little waterfalls hiding in the brush and was so taken with the trees as they were covered in moss and really gnarly.

As the light started to go we made our way back to the car and realised that in the two or three hours we had been there we had hardly covered any of the trail becoming so engrossed with the woodland, streams and flowers and looking back at my images I can see why. Below is a selection of images from the day, I hope you enjoy them.

Leave a comment